Sometimes you really can “go home again”, and it can be fabulous!

11Oct09

March 24, 2009

You know that old adage, “you can’t go home again” ? Well, I would say that overall I agree. We move on, we grow. However, for some of us it’s easy to take that so literally, meaning…I could never move back to the East (after living in the West for 30+ years) or I could never go back to work for Company X after leaving.

I believe if you truly have grown in venturing out that sometimes you really can “go home again” and have it be an entirely new and fulfilling experience. Sometimes we are required to move on from a place or situation to develop new skills, talents and awareness. We my dig into what we value, what our purpose is and become more clear on what we need and want in life. This very well may take us right back to a place we have been before. However, what we need to keep in mind is that we are new ourselves so even if we move or return to an employer the experience will be entirely new and different. And, it may be just what we need–to “go home.” We may find ourselves totally refreshed and invigorated after a hiatus. Just remember to always be open to exploring that which shows up in front of you.

I recently went back to one of my former professions that I thought I was burnt out on and which I also thought I really should shut to door on simply because I had declared that I’d “moved on”. Well, in soul searching, this job and company are all that stand forl, believe in and offers what I want in life. I needed to go away in order to get clear and now return with an even stronger purpose, passion and belief. It feels, of course–Fabulous!



No Responses Yet to “Sometimes you really can “go home again”, and it can be fabulous!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment